Language Ability Tests and Certificates of Qualification


For English Language


TOEFL, the full name of which is The Test of English as a Foreign Language, is the most widely respected English-language test in the world, recognized by more than 8,500 colleges, universities and agencies in over 130 countries including Australia, Canada, and the United States. Wherever you want to study, the TOEFL test can be your "language passport".


IELTS (the International English Language Testing System) is another world-proven English test, which is particularly favored by the U.K. and some other commonwealth countries. Over 1.7 million people took the IELTS last year, enabling themselves to start their journeys into international education and employment. IELTS is recognized by more than 7,000 institutions in over 135 countries.

For German Language


International students wishing to study in a German university have to pass the DSH (Deutsche Sprachprüfung für den Hochschulzugang ausl?ndischer Studienbewerber) and TestDaF (Test of German as a Foreign Language). The Language Center offers the DSH Exam several times a year and will also be offering TestDaF in the near future. The TestDaF examination is centrally developed and rated by the TestDaF Institute based in Hagen, Germany. The test can be taken at licensed Test Centers in about 80 different countries. All examination candidates receive the same papers and the examinations are graded by trained raters.

For French Language


TCF is the French language test awarded by the French Ministry of Education. It is a standard graded test designed by the CIEP, a language tester and member of ALTE, based on an extremely rigorous method that makes it a reliable means of assessing language skills. All candidates receive a certificate of results that grades them in one of six levels (from A1 to C2) on the competency scale defined by the Council of Europe. Since December 2002, the TCF has been certified in accordance with ISO 9001:2000 standard. It is composed of three compulsory sections and two optional ones.


TEF is an exam of the CCIP (Chamber of Commerce and Industries of Paris) which tests the candidate's proficiency in the French language. In October 2002, an agreement was signed between the Canadian High Commission and the network of Alliances Francises in India in order to recognize TEF. Further, the Alliance Francise in India are the exclusive Centers for TEF.

For Korean Language


The TOPIK, Test of Proficiency in Korean, is a written test designed to measure the ability of non-native speakers for expression and comprehension in the Korean language. There are two different forms of the TOPIK test. The standard TOPIK test measures proficiency in reading, writing, and listening comprehension in the Korean language. The test has three different levels: Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced. Further accuracy is expressed through six grades, two matched to each level to evaluate proficiency. The Business TOPIK test is for candidates who intend to work in Korea. The Business TOPIK evaluates ability in Korean language for practical communication skills, with a focus on applied business Korean. The Business TOPIK is not divided into levels or grades, nor is there a successful passing test score. Candidates are told their score out of the total score of 400 points.

For Japanese Language


The Japanese Language Proficiency Test is a standardized criterion-referenced test to evaluate and certify Japanese language proficiency for non-native speakers.The JLPT was expanded to five levels in 2010, with passing Level N5 denoting simple language abilities, and Level N1 denoting advanced language abilities. The test is held twice a year in Japan and selected countries, and once a year in other regions. It is notable that JLPT does not has any writing or essay section.

Does this article solve your problem?

Yes No

comments powered by Disqus